17 Responses to “Turtle go Beep!”

  1. manjushra Says:

    turtle did not beep for us :(
    are we missing something?

  2. drj11 Says:

    At the moment it’s only supposed to work on Safari 3. If you are using Safari 3, tell me more about what version, what OS version, etc etc. Safari 3 on Windows I haven’t tested at all. If you’re using Firefox or Opera, I’d love to make it work, but it doesn’t. You could vote for bug 404780 :)

  3. Ian Bicking Says:

    I tried the beep on Firefox, and then other commands (like fd 100) stopped working, though the console did still show them.

  4. drj11 Says:

    @Ian: Oh. That’s not good. Beep not working I think I just have to live with, but breaking the other commands I guess I should be able to do something about.

    What version of Firefox are you using? What operating system are you running it on?

  5. Ian Says:

    Curly Logo is great in Safari 3!

    Given that you provide tooltips on all the words, it would be nice to have a side panel listing all the allowed commands.

  6. drj11 Says:

    @Ian: Maybe. The list is quite short at the moment, but destined to grow longer.

    The command
    opps
    will print out the names of all defined procedures which can then be tooltipped.

    Obviously all this falls under the well known outstanding issue of “there should be more help”.

  7. Nick Barnes Says:

    We want variables!
    We want variables!

  8. Nick Barnes Says:

    parentheses in arithmetic expressions? Or some other way of achieving the same result?

  9. Nick Barnes Says:

    Better error messages?

  10. Ian Osgood Says:

    @drj11:

    Thanks, just a line saying “Type opps for commands” would be helpful. (I’ve long since learned the habit of adding features to the documentation and source simultaneously.)

    Is there a reason you obfuscate your .js files? I would consider helping, but I don’t want to submit patches to obfuscated source (not to mention it’s hard to read).

    How about a “to-do” page listing Logo features you have yet to add? Also a page of examples demonstrating all the existing features would be welcome. Maybe just expose your unit tests.

    (P.S. The link points to my own collection of JavaScriptimplementations for esoteric languages.)

  11. drj11 Says:

    @Ian: yes to all of those. I run my javascript through JsMin purely because I pay per byte. So far Curly Logo has cost me about 2.5 millidollars and would have cost 5 times that if I didn’t pay attention to bandwidth costs.

    I intend to publish all the source under some Open Source license.


  12. Instead of a wav file, have you considered a midi file? I ask because those are downright miniscule, and easily generated by a variety of programs (I like abc2midi).

    If you don’t feel like generating your own, feel free to use any of the beep sounds used on http://snowplow.org/martin/greasemonkey/lt-cc-musictest.html (they’re written in data: url form there)

    There’s also on that page a way to generate a system beep in firefox without any extra file at all – look at the onclick handler for the “last resort” beep.

  13. drj11 Says:

    @Nick: global variables now work. make “x 4

    Parentheses in arithmetic expressions not supported yet, but will be. For now use Lisp syntax: (* repcount (+ 1 repcount))

    You mean better than “(1 + x) ⇒ Exception: TypeError: Value undefined (result of expression f.apply) is not object.” ? I think I agree.

  14. Ian Osgood Says:

    Thanks for the reply!

    Suggestion: run source through toLowerCase() before parsing. Most Logo implementations were case-insensitive, and a lot of existing Logo code is written in upper case.

    Also, a page with basic Logo syntax that you can’t get through tooltips would be welcome (“to” syntax, variable reference, types, lists, etc.)

  15. Ian Osgood Says:

    Are parameters supposed to work?

    to simple :l
    fd :l
    end ⇒ simple defined
    simple 50 ⇒ I don’t know how to qthing

  16. drj11 Says:

    @Ian: toLowerCase, yes of course. It was already on the list. Ditto the non-noun syntax.

    @Ian: parameters do work, but not using traditional syntax. Just drop all your colons. I plan to make traditional syntax work, in a way that I believe is similar to the way UCB Logo does it.

    Here’s the star example which defines two procedures, that should get you going.

  17. drj11 Says:

    @Daniel: I had originally thought about MIDI, but at the time I hadn’t investigated generating files. I’ve now updated Curly Logo to use MIDI and it’s better all round. abc2midi looks quite cute, but generating my MIDI files by hand makes them even smaller.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

