Return to PyCon UK

2015-09-20

PyCon UK 2015 is the UK’s Python conference. Held again in Coventry. I didn’t go last year, in fact I have missed a few years and this has been my first PyCon for a while.

This year we are without John Pinner. I was sad to hear of his death earlier this year. John brought me to the Python community. When I turned up to the first PyCon UK way back in 2007, 10 minutes before I was due to give a talk, John made me immediately feel welcome. The efforts of John Pinner and The Committee have always made PyCon UK a rewarding and invigorating experience. I’m drinking from the very splendid conference mug, which has a lovely quote from John Pinner back in 2006, before the first PyCon UK:

What we really need to do is set up a UK Python conference.

Thanks John.

PyCon UK 2015

For me the conference is about the community: the people attending, the committee, the “do”-ocracy spirit. Conferences can be stressful on a personal level what with new places, hundreds of people you don’t know, strange food. It didn’t take me long before I was relaxing a bit and chatting to new friends. I think the Python community is very welcoming, I know I’m not the only one who thinks that, and I hope everyone attending is able to share that spirit.

It was pleasing to see old friends (all a bit older!), and very pleasing to make new ones, particularly the Python Ireland people enthusing about the upcoming PyCon Ireland. Yet again there was not enough time to meet all the interesting people that I wanted to, but I think that will always be true.

One of the more endearing memories for me was when the daughter of Zeth, in a moment of inspired parenting, manged to get the microphone in the plenary session and was merrily shouting “MAC ADAPTER! MAC ADAPTER!”, clearly pleased to the moon and back to get the attention of 400 or so PyCon UK attendees :).

Thanks to the committee and the volunteers, past and future!

Leave a Reply

